Krissy in the Kitchen

bakin', cup-cakin', and good food makin!

Montana Recap (Part Two) November 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — krissyq @ 11:59 am
Tags:

This is Robert.  Robert runs an awesome doughnut shop in Bozeman, Montana called Granny’s Donuts.  Robert’s donuts are gormet, and crazy good.

Robert let me help make donuts.  He let me put a tray into the kettle, he let me flip them, and then he let me pull them up.  He let me make a special doughnut using his pastry gun.  The he gave me a cookbook to bring home.  Needless to say, Robert brought my trip to the next level of awesome.

Robert has turned doughnuts into an art form.  He is constantly inventing new doughnuts based on a person’s individual tastes (mine was an apple pie doughnut with a caramel drizzle… right on the nose!) and combining awesome flavors and textures (fresh strawberries on a glazed doughnut?  Yes, please.)  My second favorite was the maple log, a log donut with a maple and butter glaze.  Amazing.

Another cool thing about Robert’s donut shop is that it is decorated with all sorts of aprons.  Many of them have been given to Robert from different patrons of the shop.  They come from all different times and places, and we had a lot of fun try to place their origin from the clues hidden in the apron.  They are beautiful, and add a great ambiance to the shop.  Some of my faves are pictured below.

Montana Lesson Number Two:  Doughnuts can be amazing.  Thank you Robert, you brought my Montana visit up to 11.

 

One Response to “Montana Recap (Part Two)”

  1. Mom Says:

    No trip to Bozeman is complete without a visit to the donut shop. Carolyn and I went on a Sunday, so there was not as much conversation…too much business. What is wonderful about the shop it that it is in walking distance…you work off the calories!! Yeah, right!


Leave a comment